Black bear G.C.
Junior Golf academy

By PGA Head Golf Professional
PGA Logo
Dan Walker

The objective of the Sports Academy is to develop junior golfers who will continue to play golf
socially or competitively based on each individual's desires.

 

The PGA Sports Academy curriculum includes:
Golf Skills Instruction on Tuesdays 10:00 - 12:00
Fitness and Nutrition Play Days on Fridays 8:00 (back nine)
Sportsmanship, Rules and Safety Open to Juniors ages 8 - 17
Playing Golf Cost of program: $10.00 per session/junior

 

  • Program will begin Tuesday, June 4, 2019.
  • Juniors under the age of 8 wishing to be in the PGA Sports Academy must be accompanied by an adult each session and get the permission of the Head Golf Professional.
  • A parent or chaperone must accompany junior on play days if under the age of 13.
  • All juniors must fill out a registration form (see below) and have it signed by their parents to be enrolled in the program.
  • Students in the PGA Sports Academy will be required to conform at all times to the Etiquette Code, which will be explained in the introductory session.
  • Please drop off and pick up your student at the scheduled location on the calendar.
  • History of the Junior Golf Instructor
  • PGA Junior Academy Registration Form
  • Friday Morning Junior Golf League!

PGA Sports Academy Schedule

Day Date Topic Location
Tuesday June 4 Introduction to Junior Golf Driving Range
Friday June 7 Play Day (No Play Day for beginners)  
       
Tuesday June 11 Putting Driving Range
Friday June 14 Play Day Clubhouse
       
Tuesday June 18 Chipping Driving Range
Friday June 21 Play Day Clubhouse
       
Tuesday June 25 Pitching/Bunkers Driving Range
Friday June 28 Play Day Clubhouse
       
Tuesday July 2 NO Junior Golf (HOLIDAY) NO Junior Golf
Friday July 5 NO Play Day NO Junior Golf
       
Tuesday July 9 Full Swing (Irons) Driving Range
Friday July 12 Play Day Clubhouse
       
Tuesday July 16 Full Swing (Woods) Driving Range
Friday July 19 No Play Day, BBC Junior Golf Tournament (see Dan for details)
       
Tuesday July 23 Full Swing (Woods & Irons) Driving Range
Friday July 26 Play Day Clubhouse
       
Tuesday July 30 Skills Competition/Fun Day  
       
Time Schedule      
10:00 - 10:15   Roll Call & Warm Up Exercise  
10:15 - 10:30   Explanation of Topic of the Day  
10:30 - 11:00   Practice & Instruction  
11:00 - 11:15   Nutritious Snack/Bathroom Break  
11:15 - 11:45   Competition  
11:45 - 12:00   Recap & Cool Down Exercise  
       
Instruction Day Tuesday 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.  
Play Day Friday Tee Times start at 8:00 a.m. on the back nine