Junior Golf Academy

By PGA Head Golf Professional

Dan Walker

The objective of the Sports Academy is to develop junior golfers who will continue to play golf socially or competitively based on each individual's desires.

The PGA Sports Academy curriculum includes:

Golf Skills
Fitness and Nutrition
Sportsmanship, Rules and Safety
Playing Golf

Instruction on Tuesdays, 10:00 - 12:00
Play Days on Fridays 8:00 (back nine)
Open to Juniors ages 8 - 17
Cost of program: $10 per session/junior

  • Program will begin Tuesday, June 4, 2019.
  • Juniors under the age of 8 wishing to be in the PGA Sports Academy must be accompanied by an adult each session and get the permission of the Head Golf Professional.
  • A parent or chaperone must accompany junior on play days if under the age of 13.
  • All juniors must fill out a registration form (see below) and have it signed by their parents to be enrolled in the program.
  • Students in the PGA Sports Academy will be required to conform at all times to the Etiquette Code, which will be explained in the introductory session.
  • Please drop off and pick up your student at the scheduled location on the calendar.
  • History of the Junior Golf Instructor
  • PGA Junior Academy Registration Form
  • Friday Morning Junior Golf League!

PGA Sports Academy Schedule

Tuesday Instruction Day, Driving Range, 10AM-12PM
Friday Play Day, Tee Times 8AM at back nine.

Day/Date Topic
Tues. June 4 Intro to Junior Golf
Fri. June 7 Play Day (No play day for beginners)
Tues. June 11 Putting
Fri. June 14 Play Day
Tues. June 18 Chipping
Fri. June 21 Play Day
Tues. June 25 Pitching/Bunkers
Fri. June 28 Play Day
Tues. July 2 Holiday, No Junior Golf
Fri. July Holiday, No Play Day
Tues. July 9 Full Swing, Irons
Fri. July 12 Play Day
Tues. July 16 Full Swing, Woods
Fri. July 19 No Play Day, BBC Junior Golf Tournament
Tues. July 23 Full Swing, Woods & Irons
Fri. July 26 Play Day
Tues. July 30 Skills Competition/Fun Day
Time Schedule  
10:00-10:15 Roll Call & Warm Up Exercise
10:15-10:30 Topic of the Day Explanation
10:30-11:00 Practice & Instruction
11:00-11:15 Nutritious Snack/Bathroom Break
11:15-11:45 Competition
11:45-12:00 Recap & Cool Down Exercise